Around the South
Gulf South Data Center Tracker
Louisiana and its neighbors: every data center project of $1 billion or more announced in Louisiana, Mississippi and Alabama, with the deal terms side by side. Updated as of Oct. 6, 2026.
What we mean by the Gulf South. For this tracker, the Gulf South is Louisiana, Mississippi and Alabama. Texas and Georgia are big data center markets, but they're large enough to need trackers of their own, and Georgia isn't on the Gulf.
The column to watch is deal terms: the tax breaks, payments and power arrangements each state and community agreed to. Read our comparison: How Louisiana's data center deals compare with its neighbors'.
| Developer | State | Investment | Capacity | Jobs | Power | Deal terms | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Louisiana 4 projects: Meta, Amazon, Hut 8, Applied Digital | Statewide | Meta's $50B+ Hyperion campus, Amazon's $18B across three northwest campuses, Hut 8's River Bend campus and Applied Digital's $3.6B Delta Forge 1. See every Louisiana project in detail. | Louisiana tracker | ||||
| xAI MACROHARDRR (Colossus expansion) | Mississippi Southaven, DeSoto County | $20+ billion | Brings xAI's Colossus training compute to about 2 GW (company claim) | Hundreds of permanent jobs | Adjacent power plant acquired by xAI | Sales and use tax exemption on computing equipment and software; fee-in-lieu agreements with Southaven and DeSoto County Mississippi Today later described a $6 billion Southaven plan; figures differ by source. | Source 2026-01-08 |
| Amazon (AWS) Two data centers | Mississippi Ridgeland, Madison County | $12 billion | Not specified | Part of 2,000 jobs across Amazon's four Mississippi facilities | Entergy Mississippi | Builds on Mississippi's 2024 Amazon package ($44M in state spending and tax breaks); Entergy Mississippi may build power infrastructure without prior PSC approval under 2024 law Ridgeland site moving to recycled water by 2027. | Source 2026-04-09 |
| Amazon (AWS) Original Mississippi campuses | Mississippi Madison County area | $10 billion | Not specified | Part of 2,000 jobs across four facilities | Entergy Mississippi | $44M state package (2024), a $215M loan and tax breaks, per Mississippi Today | Source 2024 |
| Amazon (AWS) Warren County data center | Mississippi Near the Port of Vicksburg, Warren County | $3 billion | Not specified | At least 200 full-time | Not specified | Covered by existing 2024 legislation; no additional state funds, per Mississippi Today | Source 2025-11-20 |
| Compass Datacenters Eight-building campus | Mississippi Meridian, Lauderdale County | $10 billion (incl. tenant IT equipment) | About 500 MW | Thousands of direct and indirect jobs (state claim) | Mississippi Power | 10-year state income and franchise tax exemptions; sales and use tax exemption; MDA site preparation help; $4M county site grant Eight-year build-out. | Source 2025-01-09 |
| AVAIO Digital AVAIO Digital Taurus | Mississippi Brandon, Rankin County | $6 billion | Not specified | At least 60 direct | Entergy Mississippi | Data Center Enterprises tax exemption; Site Development Grant Program help Water-efficient cooling and rainwater recapture planned; completion targeted first half of 2027. | Source 2025-08 |
| Applied Digital Delta Forge 2 | Alabama Near Brookwood, Tuscaloosa County | $3.2 billion | 210 MW | 100 permanent; about 1,000 construction | Not specified | $270M in community benefit payments to the Tuscaloosa County Economic Development Authority over 20 years Operations expected 2028; end user an unnamed hyperscaler. | Source 2026-09-25 |
| Google Jackson County campus expansion | Alabama Former Widows Creek coal plant site, Jackson County | $1.5 billion (2026 to 2027) | Not specified | Hundreds of full-time jobs; about 1,800 construction for the expansion | TVA; Google says it funds 100% of its own power and infrastructure costs | 30-year tax abatement, per Business Alabama Operating since 2019. | Source 2026-06-15 |
| Meta Montgomery data center | Alabama Montgomery | $1.5 billion | 1.3M+ sq ft at completion | 100+ permanent; about 1,500 construction at peak | Not specified | Not specified in the announcement | Source 2024 ($800M); expanded 2025 |
How to read this tracker
- Figures are as announced or reported by the cited source. Where sources disagree, we note it.
- Investment totals often include equipment that tenants install later, and job counts mix direct, indirect and construction estimates.
- Louisiana projects are summarized here and detailed on our Louisiana Data Center Tracker.
- Alabama projects under $1 billion, such as Meta's Huntsville campus, aren't listed.
Know of a project we missed? Tell us and include a source.